## CONFERENCE

Approaches to Shaping Climate Resilient Agriculture

Venue

The Lalit Ashok, Kumarakrupa Road, Seshadripuram, Bengaluru

Date 28th February, 2020

## Venue: SIDDHARTHA, The Lalit Ashok, Bengaluru

Agenda | 28 February, 2020

8:00-9:00	Registration
9:00-10:30	Session 1: Exposure to Climatic Risks: Developing an Understanding of the Risks at the Sub-
	National Scales
	Chair: Dr K.J Ramesh, Former Director General, India Meteorological Department, Ministry
	of Earth Sciences, Government of India
	Co-Chair: Mr T.K Anil Kumar, IAS, Principal Secretary, Revenue Department, Government of
	Karnataka
	Speakers:
	<ul> <li>Dr. Poonam Malakondaiah, IAS, Special Chief Secretary to Government, Government of Andhra Pradesh</li> </ul>
	• Dr. G.S Srinivasa Reddy, Director, Karnataka State Natural Disaster Monitoring
	Centre
	<ul> <li>Mr Harikumar B., Assistant Director (Agriculture), Project Preparation and Monitoring Cell, Government Secretariat, Kerala</li> </ul>
	• Mr T. Karthikeyan, Joint Director of Agriculture, Directorate of Agriculture,
	Government of Tamil Nadu
	Mr Saurabh Bhardwaj, Fellow, Earth Science and Climate Change, TERI
10:30-11:15	Inaugural Session:
	Welcome Address:
	Mr S. Sampathraman, ASSOCHAM Karnataka Chapter
	Special Address:
	Mr Deepak Sood, Secretary General, ASSOCHAM
	Setting the Context:
	Mr D.N Narasimha Raju, Director-TERI Southern Regional Centre
	Inaugural Address :
	Shri B.S Yediyurappa , Hon'ble Chief Minister of Karnataka
	Vote of Thanks:
	Mr R.R Rashmi, Distinguished Fellow & Programme Director, TERI
11:15-11:30	Tea break
11:30-12:45	Session 2: Impacts on Agriculture, Mitigation and Adaptation Strategies
	Chair: Dr. S. Bhaskar, Assistant Director General, Natural Resources Management (NRM)
	Division, ICAR
	Co-Chair: Mr Rajender Kumar Kataria, IAS, Secretary, Agriculture Department, Government
	of Karnataka Speakers:
	<ul> <li>Speakers:</li> <li>Mr Brijesh Kumar Dikshit, IFS, Commissioner of Agriculture, Department of</li> </ul>
	• Wir Brijesh Kumar Diksnit, 175, Commissioner of Agriculture, Department of Agriculture, Government of Karnataka

ASSOCHAM THE ENERGY AND RE

	1
	<ul> <li>Dr. M.B Rajegowda, Former Professor and Head, All India Coordinated Research Project on Agrometeorology, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK</li> <li>Dr. R.H Laxman, Principal Scientist, Division of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry, ICAR- Indian Institute of Horticultural Research (IIHR)</li> <li>Ms Suruchi Bhadwal, Senior Fellow, Earth Science and Climate Change, TERI</li> </ul>
12:45-14:00	Session 3: The Policy Landscape; International to National and Sub-National Linkages Chair: <b>Mr R.R Rashmi</b> , Distinguished Fellow & Programme Director, Earth Science and Climate Change ,TERI Co-chair: <b>Dr. Sandeep Dave</b> , IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Forest, Ecology & Environment, Government of Karnataka Speakers:
	<ul> <li>Dr. K.H Vinayakumar, IFS, Director, Environmental Management &amp; Policy Research Institute (EMPRI)</li> <li>Dr. S. Rajendra Prasad, Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK</li> <li>Dr. Amir Bashir Bazaz, Senior Lead-Practice ,Indian Institute of Human Settlements</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>(IIHS)</li> <li>Dr. Y. Raghuramulu, Senior Advisor, Coffee Board, Ministry of Commerce &amp; Industry, Government of India</li> </ul>
14:00-15:00	Lunch
15:00-16:15	Session 4: Case Studies Showcasing Sustainable Agriculture Practices (including Integrated Farming Systems Models) in Emerging Climate Change Scenarios Chair: <b>Dr. Ashok Dalwai</b> , Chief Executive Officer ,National Rainfed Area Authority, Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Government of India Co-chair: <b>Dr. M. Prabhakar</b> , Principal Scientist (Agril. Entomology) & Principal Investigator, National Innovations in Climate Resilient Agriculture (NICRA) ICAR-Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture (CRIDA) Speakers:
	<ul> <li>Dr. B. Siva Prasad, Head- Biotechnology Division, Environment Protection Training and Research Institute (EPTRI)</li> <li>Dr. P. Vijaya Kumar, Project Coordinator, All India Coordinated Research Project on Agrometeorology (AICRPAM), ICAR-Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture (CRIDA)</li> <li>Mr Cariappa M.R, Vice – Chairman and Managing Director, Puthari Farmer Producer Company Ltd</li> <li>Dr. Dababrata Bay, Scientist, Pubber Research Institute of India, Agartala</li> </ul>
16:15-17:30	Dr. Debabrata Ray, Scientist, Rubber Research Institute of India, Agartala Session 5: Climate Finance: Garnering Support for Actions Chair : Ms Ulka Kelkar, Director –Climate Program, World Resources Institute (WRI), India Co-chair : Mr C.V Reddy, General Manager, NABARD, Karnataka Regional Office
	<ul> <li>Speakers:</li> <li>Mr Prabhash Chandra Ray, IFS, Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests &amp; Commissioner Watershed Development Department, Government of Karnataka</li> <li>Ms Sangeeta Agarwal, Senior Project Manager, KfW</li> <li>Mr Sridhar P., Manager, State Bank of India</li> <li>Ms Tamiksha Singh, Associate Fellow, Earth Science and Climate Change, TERI</li> </ul>
17:30-18:05	Valedictory Session: Summarisation of the Sessions: • Dr Annapurna Vancheswaran, Senior Director, TERI Valedictory Address : • Mr T.M Vijay Bhaskar, Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka Vote of Thanks :
	Mr Deepak Sood, Secretary General, ASSOCHAM